Episode FORTY-FIVE The GolfRules Questions Podcast – Golf Rules Explained

Be part of this channel to get entry to perks:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_GzvxPbX1UQBeFluD3OLQg/be a part of

SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all of your golf guidelines

It was all a Matter of Time

Firstly, the GRQOTW for week 44
Bear in mind solely 6% of individuals have gotten this one proper on my YouTube Group Rules of Golf query
The Reply is: 8
Stuart hit his tee shot, that’s 1
He hit his second shot from the green, that’s 2
He couldn’t discover his second, so had to return to the place he performed his stroke from within the fairway and drop a ball for a penalty of 1, that’s 3.
He positioned it as a substitute of dropping it, so successfully he has breached Rule 14.3b(3) and incurs a common penalty, we’re as much as 5.
He then has an additional 3 photographs, so complete 8.

So speaking about dropping or changing, we now flip our consideration to Bryson’s state of affairs on the Tour Championship.
He hit his ball effectively left off the 18th throughout spherical 3, even left of the ninth gap, which I assumed was about 70 yards, however somebody on YouTube thought it was extra like 200 yards.
He wasn’t capable of finding it throughout the 3 minute search time, however after this had elapsed, the Committee have been capable of get a message out to him by their referee readily available that video protection had picked up {that a} spectator had moved the ball, therefore why it couldn’t be discovered.
Now there was positively some conjecture as as to if his ball was misplaced as per Rule 18.2, however the Committee have been proud of their resolution that they knew earlier than the three min was up that somebody had picked up the ball. They utilized the exception to Rule 18.2b and allowed Bryson to switch a ball on the estimated spot the place it had been moved from for no penalty beneath Rule 9.6. Bryson went on to hit the inexperienced in two, certainly one of solely a handful of individuals to have completed that every one week, and two putt for a birdie.

Now if you happen to thought that was a doozy, effectively the Solheim Cup once more threw up an enormous name and a really shut onerous fought contest.
On the saturday afternoon in the course of the 4-ball competitors, Nelly Korda tried an eagle putt, which sat on the sting of the outlet. The referee thought it was overhanging, and as Madelene Sagstrom picked it up earlier than the permitted time that Nelly was entitled to attend and see if her ball would fall in, Nelly was given the putt as holed, her eagle counted and the US received the outlet.
So let’s unpack this:
Rule 13.3 could be very clear about what the participant is entitled to when their ball is overhanging the outlet. Even in match play they’re permitted the cheap time it takes to get to the outlet, together with Nelly falling to her knees after which get again up and beginning her journey, after which from there she would be capable to wait ten seconds beside the outlet to see if the ball will fall.
Sagstrom took away this proper by conceding the putt and choosing up her opponent’s ball, and throwing it to her. So in that occasion, there isn’t any penalty utilized, however the ball is taken into account holed. As that was the bottom rating on the outlet, the US received.
The actual reply all comes down as to if the ball was really over hanging the outlet. The referee thought it was, and the television referee (who I’m led to imagine was John Paramor) believed that too. So there was no different ruling that could possibly be utilized.
The query was requested, effectively did Nelly and Workforce USA should make a declare? Nicely no they didn’t however that wouldn’t have mattered. As a result of the referee was an allotted referee, it’s as much as the referee to determine what the proper consequence is. That is totally different when it’s a roving referee, who shouldn’t become involved until they’ve been requested by one of many gamers, or they see a scenario beneath Rules 1.2, 1.3, 5.3, 5.6a, and 5.6b.
So the referee needed to rule because it was seen or reported to her. If she had missed it, then that’s good/unhealthy fortune for somebody.

Let’s now get to everybodies favorite section, the GRQOTW45:
The query for this week is:

Fraser has interference with the branches of a tree which can be outdoors of a floor beneath restore space. This floor beneath restore space is outlined by a white line. Nevertheless, the tree is rooted within the floor beneath restore space. So the branches overhang outdoors the GUR, and fraser’s swing is hitting them, however not one of the branches that intrude together with his swing are contained in the GUR space, however the tree is rooted contained in the GUR space, is Fraser entitled to free aid?

E-mail – golfrules.questions@gmail.com

Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com

Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)


Click on right here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions

SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all of your golf guidelines

#GolfRules #GolfRulesQuestions #PODCAST


Share this post


    5 Replies to “Episode FORTY-FIVE The GolfRules Questions Podcast – Golf Rules Explained”

    1. Ian McMillan says:

      Great to have you back Blakey.

    2. Viet says:

      To what degree of the ball overhang by to get the 10 sec count. A dimple overhang is not going to drop.

    3. Gerry Bower says:

      Enjoy any Rules podcast and your's is the only one. Keep it up.

    4. Picture very stop/start during the live stream

    5. Brysons Ball deemed to be picked up before or after 3 minutes 😂

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    scroll to top