Immovable obstruction golf rule | golf rules quiz



Immovable Obstruction Golf Rule falls under rule 16 relief from abnormal course conditions. This is a good rule for a golf rules quiz because not every situation is black and white. Your golf stance or golf swing have to be interfered with. It’s not enough that it’s only a distraction.

I’ve seen Justin Thomas and Brooks Koepka both get no relief in situations just like the one in this golf rules video.

The USGA rules official said the object did not interfere with their swing and made them play the ball as it lies.

In a friendly match I’d be inclined to give relief. In a golf tournament I’m not so sure.

Rule 16 – Relief from Abnormal Course Conditions (Including Immovable Obstructions), Dangerous Animal Condition, Embedded Ball
Purpose of Rule: Rule 16 covers when and how the player may take free relief by playing a ball from a different place, such as when there is interference by an abnormal course condition or a dangerous animal condition.

These conditions are not treated as part of the challenge of playing the course, and free relief is generally allowed except in a penalty area.

The player normally takes relief by dropping a ball in a relief area based on the nearest point of complete relief.

This Rule also covers free relief when a player’s ball is embedded in its own pitch mark in the general area.

16.1 Abnormal Course Conditions (Including Immovable Obstructions)
This Rule covers free relief that is allowed from interference by animal holes, ground under repair, immovable obstructions or temporary water:

These are collectively called abnormal course conditions, but each has a separate Definition.

This Rule does not give relief from movable obstructions (a different type of free relief is allowed under Rule 15.2a) or boundary objects or integral objects (no free relief is allowed).

a. When Relief Is Allowed
(1) Meaning of Interference by Abnormal Course Condition. Interference exists when any one of these is true:
The player’s ball touches or is in or on an abnormal course condition,

An abnormal course condition physically interferes with the player’s area of intended stance or area of intended swing, or

Only when the ball is on the putting green, an abnormal course condition on or off the putting green intervenes on the line of play.

If the abnormal course condition is close enough to distract the player but does not meet any of these requirements, there is no interference under this Rule.

SUBSCRIBE:
For each subscription we donate $0.10 to charity. Please help us reach our goal of donating $1M to charity.

AFFILIATE MARKETING:
When you buy items through these links we make a little money. It’s not much and it doesn’t cost you anything.

Lag Shot Golf: http://bit.ly/lagshotgolf
Taylor Made Driver: https://amzn.to/2OW1H53
Titleist Custom Pro V1: https://amzn.to/3dryoRa
Titleist Golf Bag: https://amzn.to/3snkVOF
Adidas Men’s Golf Shoes: https://amzn.to/3n6UPyE
Adidas Women’s W Tech Golf Shoes: https://amzn.to/2X9xtzs

WEBSITE:

Vision Quest Golf


It’s a work in progress.

HANDICAP: 1.2

HOME COURSE:
Hoakalei Country Club … let me know if you want to play a round.

#hawaiigolf #golfswing #Hoakalei

source

Share this post

PinIt

    50 Replies to “Immovable obstruction golf rule | golf rules quiz”

    1. lard fart says:

      It isn't interfering with ur swing so no

    2. KLan says:

      No
      Your not even close to it

    3. Jacob Mizera says:

      No, your ball is not touching the hazard

    4. J C says:

      Hit the damn ball bruh

    5. Ghost_21 says:

      The ball is playable and is in no contact with GUR therefore you cannot move it

    6. It's kind of hard to tell where that grate ends. Wouldn't hit it the ball from there regardless of the rule

    7. Eric says:

      Fuck no you shouldn’t drop in that situation. Wtf.

    8. Giovanni C says:

      What no u can hit that easily. Play it where it lies

    9. Mr. Pip says:

      That’s where my divot will end… so ya.

    10. Why would you think you get relief?

    11. Macks J says:

      The way I chunk the ball it’s definitely a drop

    12. Officialjjx says:

      Take the shot and this song gives you a plus 5 on every hole

    13. Ali Hamdani says:

      I say if u hit the fairway u can move it a grips length worth

    14. If it impedes your stance or swing then yes !!!

    15. Drew Telford says:

      Yes a man made object that effects your swing u get relief from free drop no closer to the hole…

    16. Nope. Play it where it lies

    17. Chris Reagin says:

      This isn’t in your way at all why would it be any problem hitting from there? Low key a dumb question

    18. suchAjob says:

      Yep take a nice beaver tail

    19. qqqqq says:

      No. If the ball is not in contact of the grill play it as it lies

    20. GreatShot says:

      you can hit it but it’s whatever you want to do

    21. that’s not even bad lol

    22. kase windu says:

      Not on that lie but any closer I'd toe wedge back a foot

    23. If you take a divot that far away I’d hate to be the person playing behind you.

    24. If I were hitting a wedge I would hit it. So yes.

    25. Clee Torres says:

      Yooo Joel. You know the rules. Good luck this week at the British. Quit biting his hat style bro

    26. Matt Gurin says:

      It's a no-brainer play it as it lies

    27. Yes because it could affect your follow through.

    28. I would say No, it doesn’t interfere with your stance/swing and is a playable lie. If it was closer or on the drain it’d be a different story

    29. Daniel T says:

      doesn't really impact anything i would keep it there

    30. Still playable lie in tournaments, but you’re playing for fun so adjust for your sake and confidence lol

    31. tait freeman says:

      Who cares…you're going to shank it

    32. Duke K says:

      No, isn't affecting your stance nor will you hit it with your club.

    33. Yeah have a free drop

    34. Peter says:

      Nope. No free drop.
      You could take an unplayable if you have zero control over the bottom of your swing or turf interaction and don’t want to damage your club. I guess. But that’s lame.

    35. franz says:

      Its not going to make a difference if you move back a bit. A shank is a shank no matter where you move that ball.

    36. You’re not on your just fucking play

    37. Length of driver away

    38. Matt B. says:

      you must play the ball as it lies. Haven't you seen Happy Gilmore?

    39. Ray Gordon says:

      I’d just move it backwards unless I’m playing for money and my opponent says no because I want no excuses

    40. If you picked this song you should be forced to play the the shot off the drain grates .

    41. Timmy Boy says:

      A free drop from nothing??

    42. JD Jeffries says:

      I’m awful at golf.. I have moderately priced set.. no way I’m hitting on heavy rocks, roots, grates.. stroke penalty/ stink eye/ or excommunicated.. I’m moving the ball a bit.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.

    scroll to top