Karen Davila and Cathy Yang on regarding the Inquirer Lifestyle series Fitness Fashion show

To recall when broadcast journalists Karen Davila, the anchor of GMA’s news program Saksi: GMA Headline Balita with Mike Enriquez from 1995 to 1998 and Cathy Yang, the anchor of Market Edge and Business Nightly on ANC from 2015 to 2020 along with professor Xiao Chua, DZRH reporter Sherwin Alfaro and Noel Ferrer to take a MRT-3 ride from North Avenue in Quezon City up to Taft Avenue in Pasay City, then arrived via taxi to the Philippine Daily Inquirer’s head office in Makati City on about the Inquirer Lifestyle series “Fitness Fashion” show.

Joey de Leon, Val Sotto with the late Ricky Manalo Jr. Tito Sotto and Vic Sotto (seated) from the 1975 noontime TV show OK LANG! on IBC-13 wala pang Discorama, Iskul Bukol at Eat Bulaga!.

“Sina Tito, Vic at Joey, kasama pati si Coney”

Then Tito Sotto, Vic Sotto, Joey de Leon and Coney Reyes on the daily noontime variety show Eat… Bulaga!, now Pia Cayetano, Marco Protacio, Tweetie de Leon-Gonzalez and Amparito Lhuillier at Fitness Fashion show of Samsung and Philippine Daily Inquirer Lifestyle.

Last Thursday, Inquirer Lifestyle staged the rousing, filled-to-the-bleachers (despite the heavy rains and flooding) curtain-raiser to its Lifestyle Series of events with “Fitness.Fashion,” a catwalk team-up between some of the country’s top designers and best-selling activewear brands, at the Rigodon Ballroom of the Peninsula Manila in Makati City.

Co-presented with Samsung, it drew guests who cut across the fields of fashion, business and commerce, arts, media and entertainment. With the support of HSBC and Peninsula, the show had 12 sought-after designers melding their creations with the latest brand collections: Kipling with Vic Barba; Fila with Lulu Tan-Gan; Nike Golf with Anthony Nocom; Speedo with Louis Claparols; Adidas with Patrice Ramos-Diaz and Rhett Eala; Marks & Spencer with Arcy Gayatin; Aigle and Oxbow with Rajo Laurel; Bench with Joey Samson; and Puma with Ivarluski Aseron and Randy Ortiz. (Read the fashion report in this Friday’s Lifestyle Fashion and Beauty.)

High fashion married active wear in this groundbreaking event that featured some of Manila’s top designers such as Ivar Aseron, Rajo Laurel, and Randy Ortiz, and top retail brands such as Adidas, Nike Golf, Speedo, Puma, and Kipling.

Together with Samsung and with the cooperation of the Peninsula and the Waterfront Hotel, Inquirer Lifestyle presented the show in both Manila and Cebu.

“Personalities like Senator Pia Cayetano, Waterfront GM Marco Protacio, jewelry designer Tweetie de Leon-Gonzalez and socialite Amparito Lhuillier were among the big names who gamely participated in the event.” – from “A dynamic, eclectic 2008” in the column “Apples Pickings” by Apples Aberin Sadhwani published in the December 26, 2008 issue of the Philippine Daily Inquirer, page D1 and D3.

Cayetano, Protacio, De Leon-Gonzalez, and Lhuillier remain the pillars of the Inquirer Lifestyle and Samsung fashion show Fitness Fashion held in Manila and Cebu, also forming a GMA Man with a globe in Manila Bay.

“Fitness.Fashion” also scored a coup with the runway debut of fitness enthusiast and sports advocate Sen. Pia Cayetano. Other guest models were Akiko Thompson, Amanda Carpo, Rina Go, Paolo Abrera, Phoemela Baranda, Svetlana Osmeña, Jeena Lopez, Enchong Dee, Ruby Gan, Fely Atienza, Trishan Cuazo, catwalk queens Tweetie de Leon-Gonzalez and Apples Aberin-Sadhwani, and Inquirer’s own Tessa Prieto-Valdes and Leica Carpo. – taken from “Style statement: Sporty”, published on August 3, 2008 issue of the Philippine Daily Inquirer, pages E3 and E4.

Guests include President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, Vice President Noli de Castro, House Speaker Prospero Nograles, Senate President Manuel Villar Jr., Supreme Court Chief Justice Reynato Puno, Manila Archbishop Gaudencio Cardinal Rosales, Manila mayor Alfredo Lim, Quezon City mayor Feliciano Belmonte, Jr., Caloocan mayor Enrico Echiverri, Las Piñas mayor Vergel Aguilar, Makati mayor Jejomar Binay, Malabon mayor Canuto Oreta, Mandaluyong mayor Benjamin Abalos, Jr., Marikina mayor Marides Fernando, Muntinlupa mayor Aldrin San Pedro, Navotas mayor Tobias Tiangco, Parañaque mayor Florencio Bernabe, Jr., Pasay mayor Wenceslao Trinidad, Pasig mayor Robert Eusebio, Pateros mayor Jaime Medina, San Juan mayor JV Ejercito, San Pedro mayor Calixto Cataquiz, Taguig mayor Sigfrido Tinga, Valenzuela mayor Sherwin Gatchalian and former presidents Corazon Aquino, Fidel Ramos and Joseph Estrada.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

scroll to top